Where we’re at with the house

I want to apologize first and foremost to both my readers and my future self / family for not updating this as often as I’d hoped. It has been well over a month since I last posted here on WordPress and while I have tried to get some traction on Facebook with a bunch of random memes / links and a few posts, etc. I haven’t updated anything regarding the house. Mostly, that’s because we’ve been in a kind of limbo here… Stalled, waiting on programs, paperwork and the like. I don’t know why I plan things, they never go as planned anyway… For the life of me, I cannot seem to get it together the way others do, which depresses me so very much… That being said, I am here now today to update what has happened as it pertains to the house.

Actually, a little over a month ago (on June 23rd) I had planned on sharing a video update, recording this my last time over there to explain what we knew at that point. However, despite downloading several apps specifically for that purpose I could not figure out how to edit together such a long video. Stupidly, I had completely spaced Movie Maker until I had to empty my new phone’s SD card…

I realize that a half hour is far longer than most wish to watch (and sincerely appreciate those who make it through!) Therefore, I have added a few key points below, along with a few that have happened since doing the video, in order to be as up-to-date as I can.

*Moving date has been put off from June to July and now to October, possibly November.

*Wrecked myself (Derek too) getting the house ready for us, only to possibly not be the ones moving in as our keys have been taken back and the house has been listed on Craigslist for a short-term rental (though has not yet been rented) in order for the landlady to attempt to make up some of the money she’s losing by having it sit.

*Please ignore the windows on the porch.

*Have tried a few fundraisers to get our deposit together but aside from my mom giving $40, the neighbor who would like our apartment giving some bottles for the bottle drive, one friend who bought all the banana bread I sold plus the one stranger who donated $3 at RC for a total of about $100, we haven’t had much luck. We have put everything we possibly can towards it ourselves though and have about $700 of the $1260 needed so we are getting there, slowly. Desperately hoping that the WRAP program will cover the rest as I am just not sure how we’ll come up with the other half needed in time.

*Lastly, I have gotten quite a bit of the storage room gone through but still have a LONG way to go before I’ll be finished. That is the goal for this month, to completely finish going through everything in the office, put it through my minimalization process in order to move as little as possible to the new house, be there in time for Christmas 💜💙💚💛

Leave a Reply

